My Favorite Posts of 2009

31 Dec

I haven’t been writing for a year, much less two years, and even less ten years, but I have been posting for roughly nine months now, and that’s at least long enough for my blog to have carried a tiny, internet child to term, so I feel that lends my blog a certain stately authority. I decided that in light of the New Year approaching, I’d look back and give my favorite pieces one more chance at the light of day.

1. The Job Interview– One of my very first posts and still one of my favorites. The narrative element–really the entire job interview concept–was added after I’d already posted another version. Originally it was a bland, tired, trite tirade on the blogging, hipster-elitist culture. I asked my friend, Derek, for feedback. His response was something along the lines of “It’s well-written, but unoriginal. Anybody can rage against that kind of machine.” I agreed completely and still do. I went back, did a complete revision with the job interview in place and the rest is history.

2. Protect Yourself: You vs. The Swine Flu, Part 1– Of all the posts I’ve done that had more than one part, this one is easily my favorite. At this point, my writing was starting to suck way, way less and actually sound like something people would read.

3. My 100th Post– I was actually really proud of myself for writing 100 posts. I bring back an old friend to my blog, President Barack Obama, and we have a ball. My GIMP cropping skills really got a work out for this one as well; I believe the pictures in this blog do the best job of any in any other posts of accenting and improving the punch of the words.

4. Interview With a Beaver– The idea for this blog was originally to have a blog from an animal’s point of view, maybe one of my fish or cats or something. However, after trying at that for awhile, it seemed like the execution would be a little more difficult than anticipated, so I decided a back and forth with IronKyle would be better.

5. Writer’s Block– This is a blog that didn’t get a whole heap of adulation when it was first released. However, this list is about which ones I like, so I’m putting it here. It’s short, it’s sweet, and I think it’s pretty sharp.

6. My Screenplay for Bat Man III– Here it is. The big mama. My first screenplay. I can’t tell you how much fun I had writing this one. It’s my only post to be labeled homophobic and misogynistic. I don’t think it is at all, really, but it makes me seem edgy, so I’m telling you now.

7. Kyle & Art vs. Facebook & “Terms of Use”– Definitely the most epic of all my posts. I had been reading Stephen King’s The Stand around the same time I wrote this one, and I think it shows. Mark Zuckerburg’s persona was a big parallel to Randall Flagg, the villain from the aforementioned novel.

8. Letter of Apology to My Childhood Self– This post kind of gave me a Homeward Bound lump in my throat when I was finished with it.

9. My Day With Stephen King– Stephen King is the man. In this post, he farts on me. I get farted on by the man. Written when I had just finished King’s The Gunslinger and was reading his memoir on the craft of writing, On Writing.

10. Kylelight– I love being able to touch on a subject that a lot of people can get a kick out of. Twilight provided me with an almost universally-known subject to lampoon. Kylelight was a post that I was actually kind of nervous about when I put it out, half expecting it to fall flat, but people liked it. The most interesting thing about it was that the people who seemed to like the post the most were Twilight fans. I like that.

Thanks, everybody. Happy New Years! I hope to be way funnier in 2010.

4 Responses to “My Favorite Posts of 2009”

  1. phyllis January 3, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    psh. pshhhh. this isn’t creative at all. the people want new material, damnit.

    • Kyle Irion January 3, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

      Yes ma’am. I only live to serve the will and desire of the people.

  2. Nathan January 8, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    FB Terms of Service and The Highway gave me many giggles.

    • Kyle Irion January 9, 2010 at 1:15 am #

      Thanks, friend. I had a great time writing both. I’m glad you enjoyed them.

Leave a Reply

